President's Greeting


Akiko Agishi

  Founder and


On behalf of the Board of Directors and members of the Japanese Language Scholarship Foundation, I extend my sincere welcome to all those gathered here to celebrate the Aurora Foundation's 24th Anniversary.
We are especially happy to meet many of our friends live, in person for this celebration.


Over the past 23 years, our Aurora Scholarship Awards and Grants have reached 91 recipients in the USA, and this year we are very proud to honor our 2022 Awardee Blessing Adanuri Anyiam from L.V. Berkner High School, Richardson, TX as the winner of the All-USA High School Japanese Language Speech Contest. Blessing and the 10 Contestants are our Aurora Ambassadors of great possibilities!! We warmly welcome them to join our Foundation as valuable members of the Aurora Family. 


Since our auspicious first year, we've had the honor and pleasure of hosting renowned artists. This year, we are grateful and proud to introduce World-renowned soprano, Brilliant Jewel of Voice: Asako Tamura from New York on LIVE!


We are grateful to Mr. Kunihiko Murai, renowned composer and producer from Japan, who has been residing in Los Angeles since 1992. He will be the music and artistic collaborator with Asako-san for this very special evening.  


Since this performance will include education about opera history, I especially
encourage the young members of our audience, who might not have experienced an opera concert before, to enjoy this unique opportunity to hear Asako-san's beautiful voice, singing live, without a microphone, in a pure opera performance.
Please enjoy the 24th Aurora Benefit Concert in Los Angeles featuring Asako Tamura.


My heartfelt appreciation to everyone who has given of their time and effort to help the Aurora Foundation grow. Your warm, continuous support and advocacy endows us with encouragement, with inspiration, and the determination to persevere in our efforts.


Last but not least, my profound thanks to our loyal audiences and the entire community of sponsors and supporters.